Introducing Literally’s Tracey McGeever

The next in our series of committee member posts is from Tracey McGeever, local Head Teacher and originator of the festival…

September 2011, new term, new school year and a booklet from Cheltenham festival of literature arrived in the post. Instead of flicking through and deciding what I may like to see, I thought why do I need to travel to Cheltenham? Why does Coventry not put on their very own festival of literature? And so the story begins! I contacted Joy Court and we decided that we’d give it a go, not quite expecting it to be such a huge success that we’d do it all again in 2013.

I have to admit that there were times last year when I thought “what on Earth am I doing?” It was hairy, worrying about finance but thanks to Coventry Schools and some support from local businesses and dedication from some excellent people we pulled off a great festival. 

On a personal level, I am a firm believer that reading opens the door to opportunity, and it is important for our young people and their families to be able to access a festival that celebrates reading and literature. The team were very proud that we didn’t charge so the festival was open to everyone. 

In between being headteacher of St Osburg’s Primary School and mother to 3 boys – which means engaging in their interests: Rugby, Tennis and acting so, little time is left for many personal pursuits – although I do enjoy going to the gym when I get a chance, so retiring to bed with a good book is a real treat (especially accompanied with a good glass of red wine) fortunately, my family share my love for reading, although we have very different tastes! I’m currently enjoying Victoria Hislop’s latest book ” The Thread” – having enjoyed “The Island” and “The Return”. I loved Maeve Binchy and her whimsical Irish tales, and was sorry to hear of her death this year.

Anyway, I am excited about Literally 2013, and can’t wait for the story to unfold!

3 thoughts on “Introducing Literally’s Tracey McGeever

  1. Tracey, we are very proud of you and all you achieved last year. It is so important to raise the profile of reading. Excellent work xx

  2. Pingback: Introducing Literally’s Sian Smith | Literally…Coventry Book Festival

Leave a Reply

